Does A DUI Affect The Point System On Your Driver’s License In The State Of Florida?
No. There are no points assessed for the DUI. However, if you get convicted of DUI, you are getting suspended for a minimum of 6 months for your first offense. Therefore, the suspension you might get with receiving too many points in a particular time period really would be duplicative.
The DUI law incorporates suspension into a conviction. It would just be a suspension on top of the suspension, so they don’t assess points for DUIs in Florida.
Commercial Driver’s License Disqualification In Florida When Someone Is Charged With A DUI?
If you have a DUI and you are driving a commercial vehicle, you are disqualified from driving that commercial motor vehicle for at least one year and you are not eligible for a hardship. You must wait until the disqualification expires, then pay a disqualification reinstatement fee and restore the commercial driver’s license.
If you were transporting hazardous materials when you are convicted, the disqualification is at least for 3 years. That’s in addition to all the other DUI sanctions, so you don’t get to avoid all the other ramifications of picking up a DUI.
If it’s a first DUI, there is a minimum of a $500 to $1,000 fine, a year of probation, 50 hours of community service, 10-day impoundment of your personal vehicle and DUI school, drug and alcohol assessment , treatment and court costs. You cannot avoid any of that when you are driving a commercial vehicle. That suspension on your commercial license is in addition to all those other things.
Will Someone’s CDL Be Affected If They Are Operating Their Own Personal Vehicle When Charged With The DUI?
No. It’s only for people driving the commercial vehicle while they are driving under the influence. There is no additional penalty to them if they are driving a personal vehicle.
If you need information regarding the Effects Of A DUI On The Driver’s License In Florida, call the law office of Attorney Randy Berman for a free initial consultation at (561) 866-5717 and get the information and legal answers you’re seeking.