What Would Entail In A Hardship License In Florida In Terms Of Your Allowances For Driving?
Once the mandatory or hard suspension time expires, you’re entitled to apply for the hardship license. There are fees and classes that you must take and successfully complete. Once you complete the classes, or you can actually be enrolled and complete them at a later date, you are entitled to drive to work, to school, for religious purposes, and for medical purposes. If you are caught driving outside of those parameters, you’re considered driving on a suspended license.
Factors That Influence Whether Or Not Someone Is Awarded A Hardship License?
You will have to complete all of the prerequisites and pay the fees that are requested. Once you fulfill all obligations, it is pretty much automatic that you will be granted a hardship license.
Is A Hardship License Just Available For First Time Offenders, Or For Repeat Offenders Too?
It applies to anybody who is entitled to it, so even second, third and fourth time offenders have the ability to apply. The automatic nature is more for first timers. With additional DUIs, it might not be as automatic. They might be a little more selective and you might have to do more things to obtain one.
How Does The Ignition Interlock System Work?
The Ignition Interlock System is a mechanical device that’s installed into your vehicle requiring you to give a breath sample before it’ll allow you to turn the car on. If you are over a certain amount, it will prevent you from being able to start the vehicle.
Does Florida Use The Ignition Interlock System?
It’s mandatory in most DUI cases beyond a first time offender. If you blow the breathalyzer over a 0.15 or higher, then it is mandated that you get the ignition interlock device for not less than 6 months on your vehicle. The amount of time that you are required to have it on your vehicle increases with each successive DUI.
You can avoid having it on the first time offense if you are below the 0.15 reading. However, the judge still has the discretion to impose it regardless.
How Long Do People Have To Have Ignition Interlocks Installed In Their Vehicle?
If you are 0.15 or higher, it’s a minimum of 6 months. On your second offense, it can be at least one year and if your blood alcohol is 0.15 or higher on your second offense, it’s not less than 2 years. With each successive DUI offense or the enhanced 0.15 or higher offense, it goes up exponentially.
How Can An Attorney Help With The License Suspension As Well As The Interlock System?
An experienced attorney will know exactly what is going to happen and be able to let their clients know every issue they are going to have to contend with. This is helpful so they are not surprised or shocked when these things come about.
Sometimes, if people either handle their own case and just take the basic plea at a first appearance, they don’t realize all the things they are going to have to do and the time limits they are going to have to do them in at the outset.
People are much more at ease to know, “I’ve got to take the class within a certain amount of time so I can get my hardship license. There is going to be this amount of fine to pay, this amount of court costs to pay and then I’m going to have to go for this evaluation and I’m going to have to do community service hours.”
It helps for them to know in advance exactly what they need to do and what it’s going to entail so they are not shocked by it down the road.
If you need more information regarding Hardship License And Ignition Interlock System In Florida, call the law office of Attorney Randy Berman for a free initial consultation at (561) 866-5717 and get the information and legal answers you’re seeking.